The Difference Between Wheat-Free and Gluten-Free

The terms “wheat” and “gluten” are used interchangeably but still, they are not the same thing. Yes it’s confusing but wheat and gluten are two separate products. Find out the difference between Wheat-Free and Gluten-Free terms with this comparison between Wheat-Free vs. Gluten-Free. 

Wheat is a type of grain that is used to make bakery products like pizza, bread, cookies, cakes etc whereas gluten is a protein that is present in wheat. But there are some wheat-free and gluten-free products available in the market. What are they? If you are planning to do wheat-free or gluten-free diet must read this article.

Difference Between Wheat-Free and Gluten-Free

Wheat-Free

The wheat-free product does not contain the grain wheat. All wheat contains gluten but we can get gluten from other types of grain other than wheat. If you are on a wheat-free diet you can still eat food with gluten but if you are on a gluten-free diet then you are still on a wheat-free diet.  A Small portion of our population is also suffering from wheat allergies.

These allergies include; swallowing of the throat, itchy skin, difficulty in breathing, nausea, fainting etc. Wheat-free products are originally made for wheat allergic people. So, if you are a wheat-allergic person then must read the parenthesis of any bakery item you buy from the supermarket, if it states “Contain Wheat” then it’s not suitable for you.

Gluten-Free

The gluten-free food item does not contain gluten. Gluten is actually a protein that is found in all types of grain including rye and barley. For this reason, all gluten-free products are also wheat-free. If you are on a gluten-free diet then you must read the packing labels carefully if you see any grain product in the list then it must not be gluten-free as well.

If you are a victim of celiac diseases or gluten intolerance then you must avoid all forms of gluten present items. This leads to bloating, weight loss or malnourishment. Gluten-free products are specifically designed for these type people and they are now easily available in any superstore.

Wheat-Free VS Gluten-Free

  1. Wheat-free product does not contain the grain wheat in it where as Gluten-free food items do not contain the protein gluten in it.
  2. Gluten-free items are specifically made for the people who are on gluten-free diet and also for the people who are victim of gluten intolerance or celiac disease. While Wheat-free products are especially designed for people who are on a wheat free diet as well as for the people who are suffering from wheat allergies like swallowing of throat, nausea and fainting etc
  3. Wheat-free product can contain gluten but all gluten-free items do not contain wheat or any form of grain because all grains contain gluten in them.

Full Comparison of Wheat-Free vs Gluten-Free – Video Tips

Leave a Comment